August Updates and a Sad Ending

Standard

For 2 1/2 years we have been searching high and low, up hill and down dale for a mid-century twin bed for our guest room. It seems every one we found was very Colonial or child like. All this time that aqua room has had an antique iron bed, schlepped from the farmhouse, which was totally WRONG.

Until this:

aqua bed 001

Dear Hubby unearthed this aqua vinyl upholstered bed hidden behind a  modern one at a local consignment shop.  It was one of a pair. We got the entire bed for $25! The sparkly vinyl reminds me of dinette chairs.

aqua bed 002

Doesn’t that look so much better???

I have also gotten a little carried away with the Pyrex addiction. I did not even know I needed so much Pyrex until a few months ago. How does that happen?

Like every addiction, it starts out slowly and seemingly innocent. Then the next thing you know you are using your grocery money for your next fix.

The only Pyrex I remember growing up were mixing bowls of Moms. I know the big one was pink. When I met my husband, he had a small aqua Butterprint  casserole, which had been his mother’s and was passed to him at some point. It has followed us all these years. I also know that Thanksgiving stuffing at their home is served in a large yellow Pyrex bowl.

When we purchased this Mid Century house, I started to become interested in dishes and bake ware from the same era, not the older Depression era ones I had been using in the farmhouse.  A few garage sales later and I had a Desert Dawn pink square baker, an aqua pie plate and a Horizon blue oval baker. Hubby then gifted me with a 1961 holiday promotional piece called Golden Pine complete with stand.

christmas 2012 085

I then discovered a few websites that identify the colors and patterns of Pyrex through the years. That is what pushed me over the edge. Here are a few pieces I have found:

pyrex 002

pyrex 003

pyrex 004

As you can see it does not stop with Pyrex. I also love Glasbake and Fire King pieces!

pyrex 006

pyrex 001

I am now an official Pyrex hoarder and dealer. Yep, I am now selling it, along with anything else that catches my eye.

This is just one crazy surface in my office:

pyrex 007

I guess it could be worse; at least it is not hazardous to my health. I do actually use it. Here is an apple cranberry cobbler, fresh from the oven. As you can see I was a little overzealous with the fruit:

pyrex

And on a more sad note, last week we had to say goodbye to our faithful friend and companion Woody. He was our 14-year-old retriever, whom we had since he was a pup. Here he is hosting a sleepover for his friend Nash last summer:

woody nash

I hope you are all enjoying the shorter (and a little cooler) days of late summer.

19 responses »

  1. So sorry to hear the news of Woody’s passing. It is always sad to say ‘good bye’ to a family member…and dogs certainly fall into that category. ;(

  2. Awww, shoot. It’s too darn hard to let them go. Woody looked like a real cutie and wow, he shared his bed with a guest. Sorry to hear you’ve said goodbye. Hope all the happy memories will help you thru the sadness. Gentle Hugs to you and your family. You’ve really gone mad with the pyrex. I’d have a hard time ignoring the aqua ones myself.

    • Thanks for your kind words :-) I miss him terribly. That aqua Pyrex is just so darned irresistible! I know you are partial to aqua also. Is there much Pyrex in Canada? From what I see online you have more of the English Pyrex in your neck of the woods :-) I am always looking for the elusive Pyrex with black. It is much more rare here.

      • I do see the Aqua Nordic design often and sometimes that watermelon colour and even yellow with polkadots I spied one day. I’ll keep my eyes pealed for black design :D

  3. The bed is so perfect and the vinyl looks to be in EXCELLENT condition. Great find.
    I too am sorry to hear about Woody. Losing a family member is so hard on everyone. I sometimes think “I’ll never own another pet”… but of course the love, friendship, and all those happy moments with them are worth it. There’s nothing like love ….. and cobbler! :-)

  4. The room looks great!! I love how it all came together!! The bed is a great find, I too have a bit of an addiction to the Pyrex, I didn’t really know how much I had until I organized my kitchen cabinets the other day, thank goodness my dear husband wasn’t home to see how much was stashed!! Thank you for the great posts, look forward to reading them, so sorry about your sweet Woody.

    • Thanks Crystal! I finally feel like that room is done now that I have the correct bed.
      The Pyrex is taking over my life :-) I picked up a Flamingo Pink oblong baker yesterday at an indoor flea market.
      Thank you for reading my posts and I appreciate your kind words about Woody.

  5. The vinyl aqua headboard is amazeballs! Total score! And wow, all of your Pyrex is just gougeous….what a stunning collection. I esp. love the ‘Golden Pine’ piece!

    Also, so so sorry to hear about the loss of your Woody….big hugs to you Sherree.

  6. So sorry about your pup. Our 10-year-old Shepherd mix passed away in July…I still expect to see him at my feet sometimes.

    Congrats on finding the right bed for the room. My grandparents had little twin beds (like the Petries!) and I swear they had the same headboards in tan. Funny.

    • Thank you for your kind words about Woody. I sometimes forget and go outside and still expect him to come over and greet me :-(
      That new bed was 1 of 2 (like your Grandparents had) but the other one was actually a different shade of aqua (sun fade?) so I purchased the darker one. I like to imagine they were used in a master bedroom or maybe for 2 sisters who shared a room :-)

Leave a Reply

