I have fallen off the wagon, again.

Standard

When preparing to move 16 months ago, I came to the realization that I had to get a grip on my vintage hoarding tendencies and start fresh. I was not going to have room for all that stuff at the much smaller home we had just purchased. Besides I did not want everyone who was helping us move know my dirty little secrets.

I had been collecting cookbooks for my entire marriage.  I was drawn mostly to those from the depression era.  Unfortunately it did not stop there. I had amassed a sizable lot that included everything from the turn of the century (not the last one) all the way to the Low Carb and Low Fat craze. It was time to purge. I mean did I really need a cook booklet that came with the purchase of a refrigerator that I had never owned?

My collection of cookbooks and cooking magazines was then whittled down to one box. I kept the ones that I actually used,  the ones I had received as gifts, and a couple that just made me feel all warm and fuzzy. What did not make the cut was donated to the thrift store or sold at the moving sale.

I never looked back.

And then it happened.  2 months ago I spotted this beauty at a resale shop for $1:

I told myself:  “It is only $1. Besides, with those great colors and graphics it can be displayed in the kitchen.”

And so it began.

Here was my next “fix”, purchased last week at a consignment store for $2.  I told myself this would look great for summer,  displayed with picnic items and that weird grill we purchased a few weeks back  (featured last week on  http://retrorenovation.com/) .

And these were dug out, having made the cut from the move, ready to drool over once again.  I mean look at this one; it goes great with springtime and Easter decor, right?  And all those colors remind me of the  pastel mints placed in the middle of the tables (along with salted mixed nuts) at bridal and baby showers from my childhood.

And this one reminds me of being a pre-teen when Mom let me make cookies from scratch. Of course they were usually chocolate chip. You know, the dough is really good.

And this one has followed me around for years. I don’t know why, the binding is breaking but I just cannot bear to get rid of it.

Hmmm….Good and Easy…maybe I should actually open it up and use it instead of trying all these new recipes that I cut out of magazines.  Most require trips to multiple grocery stores in search of  all those weird ingredients. Like who keeps wheat berries and pancetta on hand anyway?

3 responses »

  1. Congrats on the RR success! Cookbooks are too much fun. I found a couple tucked away at a Goodwill recently. I went back a couple weeks later and found a few more. The last time I went I decided to scour the shelves and I found the remaining 12 books! Instant collection.

  2. Wow! Great finds on all of the cookbooks. I have that Betty Crocker kids cookbook, it’s so adorable isn’t it.

    HA! I think there are weird ingredients in the vintage books too – just ask Ruth, she used cow tongue in a recipe once – eek!!!!

Leave a Reply

