The Living Room (or me practicing photography)

Standard

My oldest son has gotten one of those new fangled phones;  you know, the kind that enables you to talk, text, take pictures, ask directions, do your taxes, and make coffee. He had no need for his old digital camera so he gave it to me. After he gave me a quick run through, I practiced taking some photos  in the living room.

Now remember, there is not enough lighting in that room. And it was cloudy and dreary outside. So if the photos  seem a little dark I will just blame that.  I am still looking for vintage lighting for above the fireplace so we have made do with lamps everywhere. Click on the photos to make them bigger.

Here is what you see if you come in the front door:

Around the corner to the left is the fireplace:

Up close you can see the display of record albums which changes quite frequently:

Around the corner to the right of the entry is a repurposed bookcase that holds a display of  bar items (something no Rat Pack era home was without):

The really cool 3 legged chair:

The bookcase:

The view from the fireplace:

One of 2 starburst end tables:

The corner table and shadow box/mirror/curio shelf :

A few notes about this room and it’s furnishings.:

This room is long. It is also pretty large for a 1951 house. That is a good thing.

The only items that came from the old house are the sofa and the recliners. Everything else was picked up at garage sales, estate sales, thrift stores or IKEA.  The big screen television is new and it’s modern stand is from Walmart.com. The large area rug was left here by the previous owners (dirty of course) but Hubby steam cleaned it and I think it looks fine for now.

The funny 3 legged chair was given to us by a dear friend who had it in his home growing up in the 50’s and 60’s. We had it reupholstered by an elderly gentleman who is retired from a local furniture company. He said he had never seen a 3 legged chair like that one. I think it is pretty unique 🙂 I had him make me 2 pillows for the sofa with the chair fabric reversed.

In addition to vintage lights for the fireplace I plan to add pinch pleat drapes in a funky bark cloth or fiberglass fabric.

How does it look so far? Other than too many lamps have I kept it simple but yet cozy?  And what to do about the newish ceiling fan? I know they are not period but we want one here in the Midwest where it is HOT sometimes? Any ideas?

4 responses »

  1. hee! I say you can never have too many lamps…esp. vintage ones! 🙂 Those starburst end tables are ‘to die for’ awesome!!!! That’s funny that you mentioned a ceiling fan because I don’t see it in any of the pics, you must have it hidden well! I think your Living Room looks just fabulous! Great job decorating!!!

    • Thank you Sara! Lamps are one of the things I am drawn to (among other things!).That pair of star burst end tables were a consignment shop find for $35! The ceiling fan is newer, installed by the previous owners who were trying to “update”. It is brushed nickel and sort of “Tuscan” looking; perfectly functional but totally wrong for the house 🙂 We do need a fan but I am torn on what to do. I was trying to keep it out of the photos even though I needed the light. I think maybe you can see the reflection of it above the fireplace closeup?

Leave a Reply

