Geeze look at these lights (and shelves)!

Standard

Before I show you what Hubby and I have been up to on the outside, I will give you a glimpse of the great things I found last week.

You know I am out early on garage sale days 🙂 And sometimes it pays off…..like last Friday.

I picked up 2 really cool light fixtures. This early 60’s copper fixture goes great in the knotty pine mud room. For $25 I have replaced that awful shiny brass  fixture that would have been better suited in a hotel elevator from the 80’s.

This UFO/ flying saucer pull down fixture is absolutely HUGE! I grabbed it for $10 and I  am not sure if I should sell it or keep it for the “down the road” kitchen remodel:

I  have become increasingly attracted to little shelves and  shadow boxes lately. Here is some of my stash:

You remember this blond one with the pixies,  featured at Christmas on http://retrorenovation.com/:

Well here it is with vintage aquarium pieces and cute deer/gazelle figures:

These little black metal ones ($1 and $6) match the many plant stands, newspaper/magazine holders, ashtray stands and candle holders I already have:

These  shadow boxes for $3 each were already painted light chocolate-brown, which matches my main bath perfectly. I have one on either side of the big glass block window:

See how they match the original tile flooring and trim tile on the wall:

Here are 2 mirror backed pieces I picked up for the living room. The little one for $3 and the big one for $20:

I just love the big one. It is not too “Colonial” like most I have seen. Now I have to fill them up 🙂

Next time I will catch you up on the work that has been going on outdoors here on Croydon Place. You know we must have our plantings in by Mothers Day 🙂

4 responses »

  1. Looks great! I say keep the light fixture. Those pull down lights are easy to rewire…I think! Your house is really coming together!

  2. Thanks 🙂 Yes I am debating keeping it; but like you (and so many others) I have way too much stashed in the basement waiting for active duty. Then again… it would look great above my 50’s blond table in the kitchen 🙂

  3. Wow, the lights you found are amazing. I don’t know if I would be able to part with them. You may want to save the pulldown for use in your kitchen – it’s pretty awesome! Great finds on all of your shadowboxes and shelves too, I LOVE that kind of stuff!

Leave a Reply

