So Glad I Stopped!

Standard

You say “Is that all she does is shop for vintage?”

I just can’t stop; I admit it.

Surely there is a support group somewhere for my addiction.

After spending the afternoon running errands I was tired and ready to head home. I  had some things in the back of the van to drop off for donation at one of the local thrift stores but had talked myself out of it.  I said to myself  “You are tired and still have to get groceries. This can wait until next time.”

Fortunately I do not listen well.

Into the parking lot I pulled. I grabbed the bags from the back and headed in. I put the donations in the bin by the door.  I decided to make a quick circle around the store (counterclockwise).  I stopped dead in my tracks for THESE !

2 panels of vintage bark cloth drapes, in perfect condition! For $5!

But that is not all; I got 4 panels of these groovy drapes:

Also in mint condition! For $5!

I could not stop there. Continuing in my circle I was off to the books;  here this was for $1!

I am sooooo glad I stopped. The gal who works there went in the back and brought me out the old style drapery hooks for those panels for free.  So much fun for $11!

Look what I got earlier in the day at another shop; this vintage fiberglass shade ($8) will look great for the winter months on one of our funky lamps. Those stripes are black.

This set of anniversary/advertising coasters ($2) are from a long gone factory where Hubby worked after high school.  BTW, he was a shear-press operator 🙂

How about this cool Therm- o -ware bowl set ($2) from a garage sale last week. All the bowls are footed. Can’t you just see them with salad on the patio?

This cool ceramic cat (50 cents) fits perfect in my little shadow box by the front door. He has green eyes 🙂

See what I would have missed if I did not make myself stop! You know those drapes would have been gone in a heartbeat. The gal who works there said she had just put them out!

Meanwhile, check back in next week.

This weekend I am going to a Farmers Market/Antique/Craft Faire in another town with my cooking club. We are coming back to Croydon Place for dessert and beverages. I will share that with you!

9 responses »

  1. I am so jealous of that lampshade and that barkcloth. Great score. There is a pair of vintage chairs I think I might try to go back for. I saw them the other day and am saying little prayers that they are still there waiting for me. If you have time on Saturday you should swing by big sale in our area. If you want more info, drop me an email!

  2. If you’re thinking of selling the barkcloth drapes, they’d be perfect in the vintage 50s trailer I’m fixing up! If there is enough yardage, I’d be very interested.

    • Thanks Kristal; I think I will hang on to them awhile 🙂 They are my colors and style. You can always check me out on Etsy (my store is thethriftygal) and on eBay my seller ID is thethriftygal. I sell fabric, drapes and curtains when I find them and cannot use them myself. Thanks for reading 🙂 Your trailer sounds fab; do you have a blog?

      • I don’t have a blog – though my son tried to start one for me. I actually already have fabric for the curtains, but when I saw the barkcloth I was overcome with mid-century lust. The formica in the trailer has green and bronze starbursts on it. I should probably thank you for saving me from myself!

Leave a Reply

