When it is Hot….Leave Town

Standard

Last week we spent a few days on R and R in Louisville, Kentucky.

My Moms sister lives there, so Hubby and I took Mom to visit. Tagging along were my big Sis and our oldest son. He was able to squeeze this getaway in between his baseball park tour/ vacation, his trip to Toronto for work and his mission trip to the Dominican Republic. We were glad he could make it.

To say that it is was HOT there is an understatement.

But we never let a little heat stop us from having a good time. My aunt and uncle live in a beautiful area of Louisville. They welcomed us with open arms into their HUGE home. I have never been treated better at any Bed and Breakfast. The food my aunt serves is fabulous.

We spent lots of time in this screened in porch drinking coffee, sipping cocktails and eating hors d’oeuvres:

While the guys toured the Louisville Slugger Bat Factory, took in a minor league baseball game and saw Churchill Downs, we ladies shopped. And shopped. And shopped.

Here are a few things I found:

You know I love 60’s black poodles for the Paris themed office:

This album was 25 cents at a 1/2 price bookstore! This looks great framed and hanging next to my computer station:

I picked up some movie soundtrack record albums to sell. I also picked up a few cookbooks for my collection. (You know, the collection that I had gotten under control before moving here).

This one has state and county fair recipes. It is chock full of old State Fair advertising inside!

Here are a few things I saw but did not buy 😦

This boomerang inspired serving set; the cruets are geese.

A big bowl with aqua star bursts! Too pricey 😦

This casserole lid looks like an electric range burner πŸ™‚

Although someone painted this ashtray/newspaper stand red, it was still cool with the black and white ashtray.

This tea/coffee server has the same design as my Salem North Star dishes:

Love these old radios:

With the exception of blowing a tire on the interstate, Β it was a pretty relaxing time away.

Since returning it has been so hot that we cannot do anything outside with the exception of watering the flowers and vegetables. Even the dog is in the garage with a fan and ice water.

Check back for updates on the basement. We are getting there, slow but sure!

Stay cool everyone πŸ™‚

10 responses »

  1. Love that casserole dish and the old radios! So fun. The cover on that cookbook is the best. I would have bought that just for the cover. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Stacey! I have never seen that pattern of casserole before. The swirls were kind of silver grey and copper color. I snapped that photo on my way out; I did not turn it over to see what brand it was 😦
      That cookbook has some really great looking recipes; all blue ribbon winners πŸ™‚ I am gonna try a few for my upcoming family reunion.

  2. Eeeeeeeee!!!! Love those poodle glasses!!!! Totally jealous! πŸ™‚ Looks like you came across some pretty great stuff.

    I was curious, do you remember how much the smoking stand was? My husband and I just came across one for $7 so we could not pass it up. It still is the original brass color and has this cool starburst shelf thing on the bottom.

  3. I think you got a real bargain! I think the red stand was $27 or $28. I also have one in black and the ashtray is cream with olive green swirls in it. I paid $10 at an estate Sale, and I thought that was a good price, too πŸ™‚

  4. I have a place in my heart for mid-century electronics. They don’t sell very well because you have to be the right person to want the old stuff. Thankfully, I am that type of person! I’m glad you had a great trip!

Leave a Reply

