The Long Hot Summer

Standard

No room showcase. No DIY tips. No bragging about my bargains this week.

My creative side has taken a vacation. With all this heat I can barely remember how to make dinner. It’s a good thing Hubby likes tomatoes. They are the only thing flourishing in this desert we call the Midwest.

So I just snapped some random shots of life here on Croydon Β Place. We are slowly changing things. Creeping along actually.

This framed paint-by-number was a garage sale find for $1. Β I love the shape of the frame. It needed a good cleaning and has moved around the house and finally landed here in the entry. The period light fixture was an Ebay find. I have 3 more that match it. They are lighting up the end of the hall, the guest room and office.

This big glass block window is in my hall bath. I love the little window that opens in the center. It has a deep marble ledge that is fun to decorate. Wait till you see what I do here for Christmas!

There are also 2 identical windows in the garage. Oh, and this vintage bird bath was left here πŸ™‚

I finally decided on the basement curtains. The Star Burst won out.

Here is the newest addition to my cookbook addiction, picked up last week at the thrift store. I have decided that I need ALL of the Betty Crocker spiral cookbooks from the 60’s. I have 6 so far.

This is our 13-year-old Lab “Woody” trying to keep cool:

He is a sweet old gentleman πŸ™‚

This recently left our garage for a new home:

(Hubby and Son #2 are gear heads.)

It has been replaced by this:

The garage seems to be ever evolving into a sort of work room/mechanic shop/man cave so I will post photos when it a little more finished.

Here is a cozy spot for early morning coffee:

I promise to be a little more productive in the coming weeks; hopefully it will cool off.

I have been dreaming of a good snowstorm, so I have kept busy inside organizing my vintage Christmas stash, Β getting ready to craft and list holiday items on Ebay and Etsy. I have boxes and boxes (and more boxes) of mid-century “Kitschmas” that I have been picked up all year on my thrifting trips.

I guess that is where the term “Christmas in July” comes from πŸ™‚

6 responses »

  1. Hey, fun tour! Woody you look so huggable. I sometimes hang at this other Blog, they put a little pool out for their doggies, looks like a fun way to stay cool

    http://nodogaboutit.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/favorite-video-friday-german-shepherd-pool-time/

    That car will be adorable (your men probably wouldn’t like it called that, ha) when it’s finished, please please do share a picture.

    I’d also like to snoop Ebay when you get your christmas goodies on there, how would I find you there?

    • Thanks! Yes Woody is a great old dog πŸ™‚ We have had him since he was 3 months old. He actually was my youngest sons dog. Of course when he got married he did not take him! The car…..well lets just say those projects are always a work in progress. I think half of the fun for Hubby is working on them! My seller ID on Ebay is thethriftygal and my Etsy store name is thethriftygal also πŸ™‚ If you love vintage/retro Christmas Kitsch I will be listing dozens of items. I have been hitting estate and garage sales since spring πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks so much! That green is sort of a medium olive and was here when we moved in.It is not too far off from some mid-century wall colors I have seen so it will remain until we get around to re-painting. Actually, that big window in the bathroom was one of the features of this house that really “spoke to me” when we were house shopping πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

