Yes, Even in Hades I am Still Thrifting

Standard

The heat here in the Midwest has been unrelenting this year. It has definitely kept us home more. Kinda puts a cramp in my thrifting excursions.

But last Sunday Hubby and I stopped by the new indoor flea market after church.

Remember I told you that I wanted ALL of the Betty Crocker 60’s spiral cookbooks? Well, looky what I found for $2! I only need a few more to finish my collection.

I also had to have these; they are not Betty Crocker but SOOOO Mid-Century! Of course we have to know how to make famous foods from famous places! Most of the restaurants featured in here are no longer around 😦

I also found these tablecloths to sell in my Etsy store:

These adorable valances were found on a vintage linens Facebook page. With shipping they were only $7.50. They look adorable in my knotty pine laundry room:-)

This was a $4 paint-by-number which I planned to sell but it does look pretty swell in my bedroom 🙂

This Tiki tidbit (or appetizer) tray was only $5 at the indoor flea market. I think it looks great in the middle of the table downstairs. It would be great with fresh fruit. The holes in the pineapple are for tidbits on toothpicks 🙂

The seller told me that she did, in fact, purchase this in Hawaii.

Well what do you think folks? Should I keep the paint-by-number? Did I get a good deal on the Tiki tidbit tray?

With cooler weather coming soon (I hope) I will tend to spend more time in the kitchen. I am a baking fool once the holidays are upon us.

I was wondering if anyone would be interested in seeing some of my tried-and-true mid-century recipes that have been in my family for so long? Or  maybe some that I have made from my collection of cookbooks from that era?

8 responses »

  1. Cute stuff. Your Island paint by number really takes me back. I hung with a girlfriend who’s parents basement was all about tiki tiki stuff. Even the transome post was made up to be a palm tree. I guess it was really a popular decorating theme at the time.

    • I am thinking I will keep the PBN, at least till I find something I like better 🙂 And that tidbit tray is so cool. I had been looking at it for at least 6 weeks and kept talking myself out of it. Glad I finally got it!

Leave a Reply

