The Early Bird Gets the Bargains

Standard

Hubby and I were up and at ’em very early Saturday to hit an estate sale. We left home at 6:20 am, coffee in hand.

The family was handing out  numbers at the sale, since much of it was inside the house, so we were #4 and #5. I was worried that #1, 2 and 3 would get all the good stuff, but they left plenty for us.

How about this little Christmas stash: note the homemade felt Christmas stockings. Those are just so darling.

I dug these pastel planters our of a box in the driveway. They were 50 cents each. The coral pink one  is marked McCoy.

These little nut cups are all in mid-century colors. Aqua, yellowy orange, pink, white and green. I love the coral pink plastic candy dish, too.

There were lots of craft and sewing things. This chartreuse and green fabric just called my name. This will go in my Etsy shop.

How about all these hand-made aprons: My fave is the one on the far right with the aqua. The pink one on the left has little butterflies 🙂 They were 25 cents each!

I purchased several boxes of vintage greeting cards for $10.

Imagine my happiness when these were in the Valentine box:

How about this gem of a Valentine?

Also picked up this leather (?) Hawaii souvenir pillow cover to sell. 25 cents. Yes, 25 cents.

This sun lamp in the original box was made before we all knew better:

You know we are crazy for Mid-Century music, especially Christmas. How about these for $1 each:

We bought those to go along with this $60 gem!!!!!

This is the inside:

This is for the basement, which is where the guys hang.  I cannot wait to get it all decorated for Christmas down there. That is where the aluminum tree is going 🙂

12 responses »

  1. That stereo is FAB and a steal for $60! I can’t wait to see your Christmas spread. And all of those vintage cards – AWESOME!!! I just love old cards like that, you were lucky to find so many for SO cheap!

  2. I LOVE the console record player! You found a lot of great stuff! The estates sales around here are always way over priced.

  3. You got up and out before 6:30 on a Saturday? OK, I can see why I never can get such great stuff at estate sales — I can’t get going that early any day! Everything you got was great, but I especially love the vintage cards!! I even did a post on vintage cards this week. I’m checking your etsy shop now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

