The Many Faces of Mid Century Homes

Standard

Well…..I got up real early to take my walk while it was still cool. Camera in hand,  Woody and I set out to snap up photos of homes in my mid century neighborhood. I just got around the corner and ran into this:

This little guy was loose (no tags) and followed me closely the entire walk. I did manage to get some pretty good shots though. I apologize up front about the waste cans and yard waste in some photos. It was pick-up day and the trucks had not come around yet 🙂

My subdivision is steeped in history, even though it was developed mid-century. It sits smack dab in the middle of the former farm of a prominent local family. Because part of the farm was a nursery, many of the big old trees are still standing.

I believe this fence is a remnant of the old farmstead; it sits in front of a brick ranch 🙂  Note the little fella is still walking with me:

This home is just around the corner. I love the built in planter and the sloping post holding up the porch roof.

This home is a very cool jade/aqua color with shake siding:

This home, with its soft gold color and split rail fence is a nod to Colonial.

This one has a more modern vibe with the nearly flat roof on one side and a slanted roof on the other:

My neighbors home gets the biggest chimney award:

This is the front of their lovely home:

Another nearly flat roof and crank out windows.

This one has a carport:

I love this wooden screen/divider on the porch:

This beauty if for sale:

I just like this one;  plain and simple.

I love the wrought iron details here. Note the lamppost.

Another lamppost:

Here is ours. See the cupola on the garage roof. Another nod to Colonial.

Our front yard is very park like:

Another built in planter:

I LOVE this lamppost. It looks like a flying saucer. And yes, I have walked up close to see if  I could find any markings on it. Anyone recognize the maker of this cool yard light?

One of my favorites; love all the windows/glass.


But THIS ONE came up for sale shortly after closing on our house. We went to the estate sale here (twice) and then to 2 Realtor open houses. If it had been for sale before we would have jumped on this one. It had an original kitchen and baths, a screened in breezeway, full basement with additional fireplace and groovy bar, a brick planter INSIDE, 4 bedrooms, and was just plain cool .  It sold for less than we paid for ours 😦

I could have taken dozens and dozens of more photos; none of these homes are alike. I just love all the different styles of mid-century represented here!

10 responses »

  1. Oh, fun fun post, I should have been a realtor, I love looking at neighborhoods and houses. I think your neighbourhood is fantastic, it’s like a giant park. Love the one that’s for sale with the blonde brick and minimal landscaping with the curly shrub! Perfect. We would die for a bungalow, but the lot’s in Central Edmonton tend to be too narrow for that kind of build. I also love that the speed limit is 20…..good on ya. The guys who speed up and down our street should have to do 20. I hope that little dog has found his way home….I’m worried now.

    • I also love to look at houses. It is kind of a weakness with me and the Hubster. We go to open houses all the time! We seriously looked at no less than 40 houses before we bought this one.
      As far as the 20mph speed limit sign; I wish I could say that the drivers adhere to that; not so much 😦 I hope Mr. Beagle found his way home, too. He had a collar, just no tags. Last time I saw him he was hanging with the garbage pick up guy!

  2. It’s Snoopy!! How appropriate for a mid-century architectural tour!

    I love these houses!! How I would love to buy them! I especially love the yellow one with white trim. I have a thing for yellow houses!

  3. That lamp post light is amazeballs!!! Those houses are all so amazing, esp. the last few! ugh on that last house selling for less than yours, but your house is super amazing, so I would not feel bad at all! Maybe that is why we are so paranoid to buy a house here – we keep on expecting something MORE perfect to come along.

    • I know!!! I seriously have not seen such a cool yard lamp anywhere! I have looked all over the internet trying to identify it; no luck. As far as the red house we missed; oh well. It was not meant to be 😦 I hope you find one soon!

Leave a Reply

