Labor Day Weekend (or getting ready for Christmas)

Standard

Yes I know.

It was just Labor Day.

I am knee-deep in Christmas craziness.

I have been buying and stashing vintage holiday decor all year to sell and to use for my retro crafting. I will be selling items in my shop and also on Etsy and Ebay.

This is what my basement work area looks like. I know;  it’s pretty bad. But it is the only place where I can leave it all out and if someone stops by they won’t have to see that I really am a hoarder. All of those containers are FULL!

I also hit a great estate sale last week.  Everything was $1 or less.  Check out that groovy two-tone  aqua typewriter!  That little box is full of old Christmas gift tags. I am keeping the matte cream vase; the rest is to sell.

I picked up this star burst clock at a garage sale for $1. The balls were orange and it needed new hands.  After a little TLC I think it looks pretty good in the green bathroom:

Most of Labor Day weekend was spent doing “labor”.  Hubby had a 4 day weekend so he spent it working on landscaping in the side yard.

First he had to unearth all of these 252 bricks and stack them nice:

Then he dug up old tree roots, leveled the ground, laid landscape fabric and installed these:

Bless him, he only suffered one bee sting the whole weekend.  Little did we know that there is a colony of bees living underground back there 😦

I think the patio area is looking nice:

We did manage to take a break later on Labor Day. We cooked out and had family over, but it was too hot and humid to stay outside 😦

I am so tired of summer. I long for the day when I have to put on a sweater, make a pot of chili just to warm up the kitchen and bake pumpkin cookies. If it would cool off I would put up my fall decorations!

8 responses »

  1. The patio looks great! CHRISTMAS! Oh my goodness… it’s true… I was out shopping this past weekend and there were aisles and aisles of Christmas decorations. It’s so hard to wrap my head around that when I’m sweating like a mad woman. I guess a little Christmas weather (maybe a light snow) is something to dream of right about now. Ahhhhh, warm wollen mittens….. okay, not yet but soon. Love the clock!

  2. Good Lord, you are a festive wonder. I’m still nursing my annual garden pots LOL. That Garage sale rocked, look at that cute typewriter. I just got one on ebay for $45.00 last fall. Finally found ribbons locally. I bought three which should last me 4ever. If you’re looking for cooler weather come on up to Canada, it was hot hot hot then all of a sudden BAM, it’s fall…oh and it’d be nice if you brought some of those pumpkin cookies! yum.

  3. I know, my potted plants are looking a little anemic also, as are my tomatoes. The unrelenting heat of the this year along with the drought was just hard on everything. It is seriously the hottest year I can every remember. We turned the air conditioning on in March. That is unheard of around here.
    I love that typewriter, too. It was all I could do to put it in my Etsy store 🙂
    I have always wanted to visit Canada. We were planning a train trip to Montreal in 2010 but then our oldest son took a job in France so of course we went to visit him instead 🙂
    If I decide to come I will bring the pumpkin cookies!

  4. Gosh, you are SO lucky to have a basement…you don’t even know! I am completely in awe of your Christmas decorations and can’t wait to see them all decorating you lovely house! And yes, I hear you on wanting the summer to end already…though here in AZ we have longer to go than y’all! eek! Your patio looks awesome by the way!

  5. Thanks Sara! I am blessed with that basement 🙂 I use it all the time. That is where I do my crafts, keep the stock for my booth, Etsy and Ebay, shipping supplies, etc.
    The patio and yard are coming along, slow but sure 🙂
    I know it is hot where you are, too. I should not complain; I have air conditioning. It is just that it has been warm here for so long. Last winter we didn’t even have snow 😦

Leave a Reply

