Mid Mod Mad Chairs, an Atomic Mirror Shadowbox and more!

Standard

One day last week I met dear Hubby for coffee (he works the midnight shift) and we spent a  little time together while we waited for a local advertised sale to open.

Oh. My. Gosh.

It was an old Mom & Pop furniture store that had recently closed. They were selling off all remaining merchandise. We thought we might get a deal on something we probably didn’t even need. And boy did we!

This place had not been remodeled or updated since the late 50’s (my best guess). They had all manner of mid-century furniture, lamps and wall art that had been on display in the store back in the day but have never sold.

It was all a bit dirty so I snapped photos while it was all  lined up in our driveway airing out.

Look what we got for $10!

new stuff 1035

As if that white one isn’t cool enough, we got another one in black, also $10.

new stuff 1037

We also got a great pair of tall blonde night stands for $20. They still have their original paper tags on the back. The shelves lift up and flip out to make a nice place for your book, laptop or beverage. During the day you can close them up and hide what is stored in the bottom. These will be used in the basement for storing our ever-growing record album and CD collection.

new stuff 1021

This blonde 3 piece stacking unit was a mix and match set. Originally you must have been able to pick the pieces you wanted to put together.  The ones we purchased are stamped on the back “bar unit”, “record cabinet” and the other just has a model number. They were $10 each.  They will get stacked in the basement for housing the stereo, albums and CD’s.

new stuff 1022

new stuff 1023

This great “Steelmaster” locking file cabinet was also a great find at $20. If Hubby does not want it for the garage or basement I will use it in my craft/ sewing closet. I also think it would work great in a kitchen, for cookbooks, utensils or linens.

new stuff 1040

You  may remember I picked up a pair of  old  metal chairs (sometimes referred to as motel chairs) at an estate sale for $10. I could see green, yellow and aqua paint under that dirty red. They looked like this:

ebay etsy 002

After a date with some spray paint and primer, this is the new color:

roof work 013

And here is the goody I promised to show you from our buying trip a few weeks ago:

new stuff 740

This was only $60. I have to get some plastic greenery for the little box. It is already hanging in the living room.

So do you think I got some deals?

16 responses »

  1. Oh wow! What a fabulous haul you made! Love all of it – the blonde wood, the mod chairs and the shadow box is a find and a half. And such good prices. Enjoy your fab new stuff!

    • Thank you Shannon! I love it all too. We kinda have a “blonde” thing going in the basement so the pieces we picked up will go great down there. And I love my shadowbox. I have been looking for one like that for such a long time. And those chairs, well I just couldn’t leave them there for that price 🙂

  2. OH, it’s always fun to get something you love at a crazy price. Good shopping! The vintage lawn furniture is really adorable, in my favourite colour too. I can see many more happy hours with a cold one out on the patio…cheers

    • Thank you Amanda! Well, I am kind of in the middle of “mid century” nowhere. It is just not very popular in our area. There is not too much to pick from, but what there is, it’s a bargain 🙂

  3. Whoa…those chairs….AH-MAY-ZING!!!! Total score! The motel chair looks great with it’s new color and I LOVE the shadowbox!!! I actually have 2 of those shadowboxes….very similar to yours, just a slightly different design…..I seriously need to do a post on those soon!

  4. Those chairs are amazing!!! GREAT FIND! Don’t you just love the days when you score BIG. There are so many hunts when you go home hungry and then the one comes along that totally feeds your thrift store soul. Loved seeing this score.

    • Thanks! They are pretty cool 🙂 We are trying to decide on upholstery fabrics and if we should do them the same or differently. You are right, some days you come home with nothing and other days you get so much!

  5. Great Milo Baughman scoop chair find! Saw your post on Retro Renovation after I posted mine! They are the coolest chairs ever!!!

    • Thanks Calibama! We just couldn’t pass up those chairs at that price.
      Don’t you just love Retro Renovation? After discovering that website, I finally fell in love with my house. I will head over there to check out your post, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

