Linen Love

Standard

When does a passion become an addiction you say? Heck if I know. I am pretty sure I have crossed over the line. Sign me up for a recovery program.

I have always collected vintage tablecloths, aprons, curtains and fabrics. Most windows in my home are covered with vintage or reproduction bark cloth. My kitchen table sports a never-ending supply of colorful vintage tablecloths in fun prints.

101_3709

101_4709

101_4708

101_4707

I even have a vintage laundry bag. They are great to stick in your suitcase and corral dirty clothes while you are on vacation.

101_4706

But this new obsession with vintage bedding is a recent problem that started off kind of innocently.  A few months back I decided that I wanted new (but vintage-y) bedspreads for our master bedroom and guest room. I jumped on Etsy and found 2 NOS Bates bedspreads.

The guest room search yielded a simple turquoise and very dark brown (almost black) plaid. This room is painted turquoise and the window valances are an atomic/ Tiki inspired bark cloth in brown, black, aqua, pink and maize. This simple bedspread would fit the bill and allow me to go a little crazy on sheets and pillowcases.

101_4705

My master bedroom is painted Caribbean Coral and the curtains are an atomic bark cloth in brown, orange, green, gold and black. I decided that “earth tones” bedding would go great with those. My problem (or so I thought) was going be to finding vintage bedding to match. Boy was I wrong! Groovy florals. Mod geometrics. Atomic stars. I was having a ball!

After several weeks of online and thrift store buying, I have enough sheets, blankets, pillowcases and throw pillows to mix and match for several months and never repeat the same look twice. A good problem to have, no?

I will show you a little of my haul.

A NOS blanket found on Etsy, hanging on the line after a quick wash:

101_3905 A few sheet changes in the master:

101_3908

I love the geometric top sheet and pillowcases. They remind me of the Flintstones!

Here is the Bates bedspread I found in earth tones.

101_4550

The starburst top sheet below is just too cool. I also purchased one in another colorway for the guest room.

101_4268

I guess I just like to have plenty of “choices”.

101_4049

101_4704

Check back soon to see what else I have stuffed into this linen cabinet.

 

 

 

 

6 responses »

  1. I have been meaning to write for a while now to let you know how much I enjoy your posts. Seeing your hard work pays off in your home is really enjoyable! I love collecting table linens too – some are my Nana’s and some I have found at the Sally Ann. Your posts are always filled with cheer and optimism; you are obviously having fun and it’s nice of you to share!

  2. Thank you for posting pictures of your linens. My grandmother had several linens very much like those you posted, and it was nice being reminded of the fun times at her house. I always look forward to your updates.

Leave a Reply

