Shut the (Mid-Century) Front Door

Standard

Here it is! After 6 years of this project getting pushed aside for more pressing matters (roof, landscaping, gutters, water heater, kitchen and bathroom remodels, backyard shed, etc.) we finally have a period appropriate front door on our ranch.

101_6171

It is a Builders Choice fiberglass door that we special ordered through Home Depot. They have a few other retro styles and can be ordered either primed white or finished in several colors. We chose a primed one and painted it this great minty green. The color is called Haven from Sherwin Williams.

101_6174

The Schlage brass escutcheon was NOS that I purchased on eBay.

101_6175

Since we were focusing on the outside this spring, I thought we needed some new planters to amp up the curb appeal. These match our new garage door colors: Holiday Turquoise and Haven by Sherwin Williams.

101_6212We also painted the undersides of the large overhangs on the house using the Holiday Turquoise. It is from the Suburban Modern collection.

101_4844

101_4843

I have also been changing things up on the inside. This bark cloth tablecloth was scooped off of Etsy with a Mothers Day gift card. It coordinates nicely with my drapes.

101_6164

I think Judy Jetson would be proud.

101_6165

The new Goodwill store in my town has been a treasure trove lately. I am keeping the Vegas tray. Everything else will go in my Etsy shop.

101_6107

I found this plant (?) stand at Goodwill also. With a Home Depot bowl planter I think it looks good with my turquoise hoop chairs.

101_6194

101_6192

This chaise was picked up last summer and sports a new coat of paint and colorful cushion. I also spray painted those little plant stands in new colors.

101_6197 I picked up a new umbrella for the patio table. We are still searching for a different patio dining table.

101_6193

Check back soon to see the newly painted cupola and weather vane on top of the garage!

4 responses »

  1. I think that minty green is a neglected mid-century color in favor always of turquoise, so I’m glad to see you’re using it. And it really looks good WITH the turquoise. My kitchen, living room, and stairwells are painted that color green, and I have pops of turquoise and other bright colors too. Works well with the outside of your house.

    Where did you get the chaise cushion? I’ve been searching. All I can find is tan, gray or solid colors which show dirt more obviously.

    • Thanks Stacia! Yes I love the green with the turquoise too 🙂 I agree it is somewhat under used. Seems many are doing turquoise and pink. I got that cushion online from Walmart. They did not carry it in the store so I had it shipped there and picked it up.

    • I found them at Big Lots! But that was 2 years ago; our Big Lots did not have them last year or this year. They have held up well so far on my uncovered patio with the exception of ending up in the vegetable garden after a big storm lol. I think they were only $25-30 each.

Leave a Reply

